Doujah Raze


Doujah Raze

Plastic World
No Place
When Misery Needs Company
from Doujah Raze (2005, Trilogy Records)

Ive been meaning to post up on Doujah Raze for a minute now, especially since he’s been one of my favorite MC’s for the past 2 years. Somehow when I was DJing on Skratchlab.com 2 years ago, I ran into his release “Irish Cream” which had the original and several remixes. We started playing the hell out of them, Myself and Nicdgreek… and one day I played the Shuko Remix and from there, We were getting hit up by alot of German cats showing props. Fast Forward 2 years later and Doujah is still spitting on the mic like a seasoned veteran. He definitely stands out from the dozens of MC’s out there with incredible insight in his lyricism and all out being mad original. His new album is worth every penny and I’ll say it, Definitely my #1 hiphop album this year (Sorry Common… You came off way too soft… Nullus Homo on that comment!) Making moves from VA to DC, finally callin NYC his home definitely worked out in the best way for Doujah Raze, as he is on the fast road to hiphop stardom. Check out these 3 cuts from his Self-Titled album. Do yourself a favor and buy yourself the copy!

-Audio1

  1. Yeahhh-

    Ummm…sorry but not feeling Douljah Raze. He’s not wack or anything, but nothing about him stands out. Typical underground topics: wack MC’s, sell-outs, loving hip hop, etc. If his delivery was a bit more diverse, than the topics would be more entertaining. Not bad by any means, but certainly not the best of ’05.

  2. Word. Were all entitled to our opinions.

    -Audio1

    • Suzi Q
    • December 7th, 2005

    Guess everyone’s entitled to their opinion except for me! I was reading your blog at my boyfriend’s house last night, and just left a simple comment that I was disappointed that you guys did the whole “no homo” thing. Apparently, my comment was deleted, but I don’t understand why, because my comments weren’t meant to be inflammatory at all.

    I’m admittedly sensitive about this issue because I work with suicidal teens, and I can tell you that a lot of gay teenagers kill themselves because of how they get treated in society. This stuff isn’t as funny as some people seem to think.

    I’m not trying to pick a fight at all, and I hope you don’t see it that way. I just don’t understand why people feel the need to proclaim their heterosexuality by being derogatory towards others. I know the “no homo” thing is supposedly hilarious, but it’s getting tired. Maybe it’s different for me because I’m a woman, but I think being secure with yourself means you don’t have to try to convince everyone you’re straight. I’ve always liked this blog, because you guys primarily focus on the music. I can go anywhere to find stuff of the “no homo” caliber, but there are only a few blogs that have quality music and commentaries like this one. Just don’t want that to change. I’m pretty sure that this will get deleted again, but thanks anyway for lots of enjoyable visits to your site.

  3. Thank you for explaining yourself. I really appreciate your words and your concern. I never really thought about the negative aspect of the “No Homo” thing. I know amongst my friends its just a joke thing, but I can understand the ramnifications this can cause within our youth. I can honestly say that you got me up the wall on this. I sort of took your comments as disrespect towards the brokebboys blog. Recently we’ve been seeing an increase in people disrespecting our site (for no apparent reason) and I kinda went on a tirade about it. I actually thought it was more of a “yall arent new age backpack emo-thug type people like I Am” rather than the latter, but we all make mistakes. I in no way meant to be deragatory towards Common or gay people in general. I just felt in my honest opinion, that Common could have made his album more in a “Resurrection” form, rather than go the whole “Kanye” route. It’s still a solid album in my opinion, but it could have been tweaked a little bit more. Anyways, No harm done and my apologies. This is the internet. We all have opinions and we respect that right. Peace!

    -Alex Mendez
    Audio1

    • Suzi Q
    • December 7th, 2005

    Alex–thank you for responding, and I respect you much for doing so. As I said before, I believe that you guys have one of the best blogs on the net, and I will continue to be a dedicated reader. I can appreciate the fact that people often just like to screw with bloggers because they’re bored losers. Sorry if I came across that way initially. Peace, and much respect for doing what you do.

    • Anonymous
    • December 12th, 2005

    And another German cat showin’ much love.
    Dig the selftitled album from Doujah Raze. Shuko is killin’ ’em on the beats, look out for his other productions.

  4. Shuko is pretty underrated. Need more props! Hes bound to be the next Primo.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

