He’s not Doom’s brother…


..but he’ll Roc your SUBwoofer”

Count Bass D
“Antemeridian”
“Subwoofer (Dumile)”
“Truth to Light”
“Seven Years” (ft. Dionne Farris)
from Dwight Spitz (2002, Metal Face/High Times)

What’s up. This past week I recently turned 22 and when I listen to Count Bass D’s Dwight Spitz album, it’s like me trying to come to terms with the sound of hiphop growin up. With Dwight Spitz droppin this quite recently, the fact is, you don’t hear this boom bap style no more, it sticks out like gold caps on dentures. This is another one of those albums better played straight through as the structure is short but sweet grooves the Count indulges you with. With the beats definitely early hiphop production inspired, the Count’s production overflows with soul to rock his own style.

Count Bass D has been in the game datin back from 95, releasin his Pre-Life Crisis Lp with all live instruments, lyrics, and production by himself. He put out some singles between then and Dwight Spitz where he flexes his skills on the MPC. Since then he declared no half steppin in the Rap game as he gained more momentum hookin up with Doom for that sick Potholderz track on “..MM Food” and recently dropped “Begborrowsteal.” Check out http://www.countbassd.com as he lets you in the know of his latest whereabouts tryna come through with his genuine music and raisin a family. Peace.

-BoogaLeo

  1. Happy belated birthday.

    • teq
    • June 26th, 2005

    this is really nice. thanks
    i’d never heard of Count Bass D.

    • gioforeal
    • July 7th, 2005

    Pre-life crisis is one of the best hip-hop albums I have ever heard.Incredibly creative ,dope and original,I picked it up on a humble.Never heard of Count Bass D or nothin,took it home and it blew my mind.This is what music should be about,not trying to make music to fit into corporate created genres or categories.I don’t need BET nor VH nor MTV to tell me waht’s fresh,I prefer to find out by myself.Also,can’t forget a cut off his album called, “T boz tried to talk to me”.Gotta hear it…

    • gioforeal
    • July 7th, 2005

    Pre-life crisis is one of the best hip-hop albums I have ever heard.Incredibly creative ,dope and original,I picked it up on a humble.Never heard of Count Bass D or nothin,took it home and it blew my mind.This is what music should be about,not trying to make music to fit into corporate created genres or categories.I don’t need BET nor VH1 nor MTV to tell me what’s fresh,I prefer to find out by myself.Also,can’t forget a cut off his album called, “T boz tried to talk to me”.Gotta hear it…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

