If this CD was my kid, He’d be a teenager

K.M.D.
Nitty Gritty feat. Brand Nubian
Peachfuzz
Trial ‘N Error
from Mr. Hood (1991, Elektra)

Peace to Big Bully Graham and the folks over at Free Motion. They recently did a post on KMD. They used the same pic so I thought I’d give them a shout on it. We would like to welcome Fu, representing outta London, UK, as he is now a member of the BrokeBBoys team. To set it off, He giving his insight on KMD…

-Audio1

What’s Up BrokeBBoys readers…
Here is a hiphop classic in it’s RAWEST possible form. Everybody knows MF Doom NOW, but back in the dawning of the 90s he was yet another slept on rhymer with unfathomable potential. KMD was brothers Subroc, Zev Love X along with Onyx The Birthstone Kid…. Mr. Hood is a fictitious character (a fictitious character created by Doom, who woulda thought it?) made up of samples from a language-instruction tape, humourously assembled throughout the album. These are from the days when Doom made tracks longer than 50 seconds, and had energy throughout. Despite him being a current favourite of mine, he has a few technical pitfalls. Listen to the flow on “Who Me” and say it wasn’t ahead of its time!

KMD carry off all the production themselves, except for “Humrush” & “Boogie Man” which were both produced by Stimulated Dummies. Personaly this album centres around one of the smoothest posse cuts ever heard, of course I’m talking on Nitty Gritty featuring Brand Nubian. This actually reminds me of how long Sadat X has been really ill with it.

“Born again, my soul then, blends
K.M.D. and Brand Nubian, friends”

“PeachFuzz” – “Yeah LL yo he might keep the girls +Jinglin+ but yo.. I’m the man”. This is the only single on the album. It features what I consider Onyx’s greatest verse on this whole CD. And the polished lyricism and flow utilized sums up the vast majority of this album. Humourous and laid back rhyming is prime on this CD. Nothing is forced and thankfully it’s currently receiving the plaudits it desperately deserved 15 years ago. I also upped the song “Trial & Error” as it’s a clear contender for track of the album. I guess most of you have played and played this CD, like myself.. But if one person is put onto KMD from this post then I will feel like I’ve succeeded.

Rest In Peace Subroc.

-Fu

    • Drew Huge
    • May 11th, 2005

    Great album. But ‘Who me’ and ‘Nitty Gritty’ were also released as singles from this album, the former with ‘Humrush’ on the flip, the latter with the dope ‘Dog spelled backwards’ remix. Actual facts.

    • udweebu
    • October 7th, 2005

    a fan since day one first of all,I was told ONYX died of aids he was not so strong to me on HOOD however his verse on NITTY GRITTY completely redeemed him again as far as I”M concerned…………………………………………………………..ok his verse on p.fuzz eas cool too

    • udweebu
    • October 7th, 2005

    a fan since day one first of all,I was told ONYX died of aids he was not so strong to me on HOOD however his verse on NITTY GRITTY completely redeemed him again as far as I”M concerned…………………………………………………………..ok his verse on p.fuzz was cool too

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

