unsigned and hella broke… in the 510


The FundaMentals: Funeral
from 30 Daze and a Plane Ticket Cassette (1995, Kemetic Suns)


Mystik Journeymen: Depths Of Survival
from 4001: The Stolen Legacy (1995, Outhouse Records)

It’s about 1995 and I was going thru my “what’s underground” phase. I ran into this homie named Karma on the 92 Line on AC Transit. The bus was always full of knuckleheads who I went to school with and they were always on that gangsta shit. Karma would always bust on them off the top, cleverly dissin’ them from the clothes they were wearing to how wack they rhymes was. Some real fresh stuff to witness. So we had a conversation about Hiphop and I let him know my views on it. He then hands me this Cassette and says “Listen to this and youll hear a whole different side to hiphop”.

So here we are, either on the Richmond train or the AC Transit 40L from Bayfair to Berkeley to catch some of the future hiphop stars of the bay area. The Telegraph strip was were all the MC’s and DJ’s would hang out. Blew my mind the first time I went out there… You had all the MC’s out there hustlin’ tapes and vinyl. Mystik Journeymen, Kemetic Suns, Bas1, Cytoplasmz, Kirby Dominant, Arata and anyone from out this way you can think of, just cypherin’ outside of Rasputins. Real good times I got recorded somewhere. I gotta find that tape. I bet you underground fans would have a ball with it.

These are 2 of the many things I picked up on my cutting school journeys to hang out on Telegraph Ave. Both tracks are pretty self-explanatory and to me are some super slept-on bay area hiphop. Last I heard, Karma now goes by KiloJoule and is still doing his thing with Kemetic Suns and a newer group named The Auditrons. As for Mystik Journeymen, The whole world knows who they are… Living Legends, Indeed. If you can find these, Buy them on sight.

-Audio1

  1. A great post on a great time/place in hip-hop. My dream is that someday someone will drop a book and CD compilation about the Telegraph indie scene.

  2. Mystik Journeymen had crazy energy and stage presence, but truthfully I never thought their recorded work ever lived up to the potential. The way to see them was live.

    I remember a TFG party we threw years ago in Oakland, maybe 1996 or so, and MJ came through towards the end of the night and just rocked the mic in front everyone, got the whole party jumping again. It was hard not to feed off their vibe, they really knew how to engage people with eye contact, unlike some of these shoe gazer underground MCs.

  3. i used to be a HUGE LL fan like 4 years ago. i started losing interest in them fast though so i haven’t checked for them since then. i just don’t think they’re as interesting as they used to be, but no doubt their old stuff is the shit.

  4. ayo…big bay area underground fan from way back…hiero, hobo, legends, misfits of styles, cyto-p, eclipse 427, etc etc

    it’s good that this blog is here for us 25+ (age) heads to come back and relive the good times, the quality times…

    much respect…and yo, is this Audio 1 from Hayward?

    if so…this is Xavier “Kastizm/Kure” hit me up on the email xenojive@hotmail.com

    …and shit…if not, whatever yo.
    peace though.

  5. Whoa… High Skool reunion right here…. cuz there was only one Xavier I knew up at Hayward High… I’ll def holler at you man!! This is great. I got some funny stories about us in High Skool. Xavier and I would write rhymes in English class and perform them for credit. That and bump the walkmans. We used to laugh when we’d play the Kwest The Mad Ladd’s CD on songs like 101 Things and BUTT-A-FUCO… hahah. Respect

    • Chester Copperpot
    • October 19th, 2008

    What the fuck ever happened to the FundaMentals or Karma?

    • audio1
    • October 20th, 2008

    Chester,

    Ive got to hang out with Karma recently. He still has the rhyming abilities but primarily focuses on business and scholastic ventures. As for Fundamentals, You’d have to ask him. He’s on Facebook… Let me see if I can get him to post a comment on here.

  6. Are THE FUNDAMENTALS back in 2009?

  7. THE ANNUAL BROKE ASS SUMMER JAM CONCERTS AT SAN FRANCISCO’S MARITIME HALL = MASSIVE MAGIC! SO MANY GROOVY MEMORIES WITH THE LIVING LEGENDS PROVIDING THE SOUND TRACK!

  8. THE LATEST BICASSO + THE NEW GROUCH ALBUM + THE NEW SOULS OF MISCIEF ALBUM = RAW/POTENT/DOPE

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

