I Be, I Be Representin’ The Misfitss


Mystidious Misfits: Upside Down/Word Is Bond(Digga Remix)
from Upside Down 12″ (1995, Sony 550Music)

Mystidious Misfits: I Be (Digga Remix)
from I Be 12″ (1995, Sony 550Music/Epic Street)

Rubberband, Messiah Peekaboo and Mushmouth Marquest made up this trio of Emcees who caused a buzz in the mid-nineties. They have an interesting story. All of them had a careers as dancers for artists such as EPMD, Technotronic, Salt N Pepa and Mariah Carey. The story goes that the “Loonie” aka Mariah Carey heard them rhyming during the video shoot for “Emotions” and asked if they had a demo. Before ya knew it, They were the signing to Sony as The Mystidious Misfitts. They had these 2 singles that were pretty solid and made the mixtape and radio rounds. They released their debut album “A Who Dat?” and before ya knew it, They fell off the face of the planet. Give me a shout if you have more info on them. Maybe dealing with Mariah was the cause of their demise. I mean, She was married to Tommy Mottola when he was Chairman of Sony. (scratches head)

    • Alex
    • March 22nd, 2005

    I just got myself a 12″ of ‘I Be’ its got the album & digga mix on it.

    But I’m after another mix that uses the same sample as ‘Whats Up Star’ by Suga from the Album soundtrack ‘The Show’. I’m really interested if anyone knows what this mix is.

    • Anonymous
    • July 14th, 2005

    I’ve got a copy of their music video “I Be” I recorded off of TV I am sharing on gnutella. I could probably make it available to a few requestors. – Marlon

    marwood@cyberway.com.sg

    • Anonymous
    • November 29th, 2005

    Alex…

    There was a remix done by Buckwild that appeared on there “A Who Dat?” LP that was never released. I managed to scoop a copy of this very very rare gem a few months back and can upload that mp3 or the entire album if someone wants to tell me where I can upload it.

    Here’s some information on the CD…

    http://www.missouri.edu/~djedz2/mystidiousmisfitss.htm

    Send any other questions to djedz2@mizzou.edu

    • MASSIAHPEEKABOO
    • July 20th, 2007

    THANKS TO ALL THAT HAVE EVEN REMEBER US AND OUR MUSIC …….

    IT HAS BEEN THE GREATIEST FEELING READ THE COMMENTS AND THE FACT
    THAT PEOPLE STELL FEEL WERE WE WERE COMEIING FROM!…

    FROM MYSTIDIOUS MISFITSS FAMILY……….i BE STILL REPRESENTING THE MISFITSS………..

  1. my dream is meet a real misfitss ! cause i m dancer from france and young his people is my real inspiration ! so if u have a contact send me ! it s for real !! ugson from wanted crew france !!!!!!

    • Massiah PeekaBoo
    • May 19th, 2016

    From Massiah Peekaboo the big Machine was not a good look, but Tommy was great and always helped in any kibda of way… It was epic & 550 staff that was the problem… Had to walk away

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

